Engleski ima brojne sažete oblike. Sažeti oblici su najčešće veze zamjenice i glagolskog oblika. U pisanom obliku, apostrof ( ‘ ) stoji umjesto “nedostajućeg” ili ispuštenog slova ili više slova. Na primejr, we have (imamo) postaje we’ve (we have – ha + (apostrophe) = we’ve). U govorenom engleskom, zamjenica se obično izgovara normalno a sažeti dio dodaje se na kraj. Najčešći engleski sažeti oblici su: 

Hrvatski         Zamjenica  glagol   Sažeti oblik 

ja sam = I am = I’m

on je = he is =   he’s

ona je =she is = she’s

ti si = you are = you’re (pronounced the same  as your but not possessive)

mi smo  = we are = we’re

oni su  = they are =  they’re (pronounced the same as their but not  possessive)

to je =  it is =  it’s (pronounced the same as its but not possessive)

ja ću = I will = I’ll

on će =he will = he’ll

ona će =she will = she’ll

ti ćeš = you will = you’ll

mi ćemo =we will = we’ll

vi ćete =they will = they’ll

it will =it will = it’ll

ima = there is = there’s

tu je = here is = here’s

gdje je = where is = where’s

nije = is not =   isn’t

nije bilo =were not =   weren’t

neće =  will not = won’t (irregular)

ne može =cannot (can not) =   can’t

are not =are not = aren’t (ain’t = US slang)

ne bi moglo =could not = couldn’t

ne bi = would not = wouldn’t

ne bi trebalo=should not = shouldn’t

nije =did not = didn’t

je bilo =would have = would’ve

je trebalo biti =should have =  should’ve

je moglo biti =could have =  could’ve

imam =I have = I’ve

imaš =  you have = you’ve

oni imaju =they have = they’ve

mi imamo=we have =  we’ve

svi vi =you all = ya’ll (US slang)